Press release from Big Mouth

ATOM (the Australian Teachers of Media) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2010 ATOM Awards, which recognise and celebrated the excellence displayed by Australian and New Zealand productions for the screen.

“Once again the ATOM Awards have attracted the best work from around Australia and New Zealand in our categories. We are pleased to be able to recognise and celebrate the outstanding creative work of the documentary industry, of students and educational professionals. Our judges are continually amazed and impressed by many of the entries we receive and this year was no different,” commented ATOM Awards Executive Officer, Simon Wilmot.

“The hard part is picking a winner for each category. Everyone who is announced as a finalist today should be very proud of their efforts and we applaud each and every one of them. I urge all finalists to see themselves as winners and to celebrate this recognition,” he added.

The annual ATOM Awards recognise excellence in over thirty categories of Film, Television, Animation and Multimedia (including video games) and celebrate the very best of Australian and New Zealand screen production.

The competition was open to anyone who had produced a short film, documentary, animation, electronic game, educational resource, television program or innovative new media work in the past twelve months.

“We look forward to celebrating the achievements of our 2010 ATOM Awards Finalists and Winners at the 2010 ATOM Awards night in October,” Mr Wilmot concluded.

The 2010 ATOM Awards will be presented at a gala ceremony, held in the Plaza Ballroom, Regent Theatre, Melbourne on Friday 22 October, 2010.

The 2010 ATOM Awards program is presented by ATOM.

The 2010 ATOM Awards is sponsored and supported by Sustainability Victoria, Aurora Community Channel, EnhanceTV, Roadshow Films, Madman, Encore Magazine, Griffith University, Holmesglen, SAE Institute, Qantm, Deakin University, Scotch College, AFTRS, Federation Square Melbourne, ScreenHub, Nikoda, Quest Collins Street Central, Wide Angle, Qpix, iZDOT, Metro Magazine, Screen Education Magazine, Open Channel, Northbridge Piazza – City of Perth, Screen West, I.D.E.A and Big Mouth Marketing Communications.

The 2010 ATOM Awards is funded by Screen Australia, Arts NSW, Film Victoria and the Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development, Victorian Government and the South Australian Film Corporation.

For more information about the 2010 ATOM Awards please visit


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *