AACTA is calling for recommendations for the Byron Kennedy Award which celebrates outstanding creative enterprise in the screen industry.

The prize, which honours Dr George Miller’s original filmmaking partner and Mad Max co-creator Byron Kennedy, is given to an individual or organisation whose work embodies innovation and the relentless pursuit of excellence.

Presented by Kennedy Miller Mitchell in association with AACTA and selected by a jury, the award includes a cash prize of $10,000.

Past recipients include John Poulson; Baz Luhrmann and Catherine Martin; Animal Logic; filmmakers Ivan Sen, Amiel Courtin-Wilson and Martin Butler and Bentley Dean; DOP Adam Arkapaw; and VR artist and filmmaker Lynette Wallworth.

The award will be presented at the 8th AACTA Awards in Sydney in December. Recommendations should be emailed to AACTA Awards manager Ivan Vukusic at ivukusic@afi.org.au with:

• A copy of the candidate’s filmography;
• A letter detailing the candidate’s achievements;
• Thoughts on why he or she should be considered.

Recommendations close at 5pm on Monday September 24.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.