Curtis Levy. 

Filmmaker Curtis Levy, whose credits include The Matilda Candidate, The President Versus David Hicks, Hephzibah, High Noon in Jakarta and Breakout, will receive the Stanley Hawes Award at next week’s Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC).

The award recognises outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary sector, with previous recipients including Brian Beaton (2017), Sonya Pemberton (2016), Chris Hilton (2014) and Julia Overton (2012). Now in its 18th year, the award recognises its namesake, factual filmmaker Stanley Hawes, who was the first producer-in-chief of the Australian Film Board (1946-1969).

“I really appreciate receiving this award, particularly at a time when cutting edge or, dare I say, controversial documentaries are under fire. This award will give me renewed ammunition to rejoin the battle,” said Levy.

In other AIDC news, the ABC’s head of non-scripted production Josie Mason-Campbell has joined the organisation’s board. She joins other board members Fiona Gilroy, Denise Eriksen, Frank Filosi, Janine Pearce, Kingston Anderson, Mandy Chang, Clement Dunn, Cathy Henkel, Susie Jones and Douglas Watkin.

The full AIDC program is available here.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.