The Australian film industry’s finest will attend special screenings this weekend and choose the craft category nominees for the 2008 Inside Film Awards – Best Director, Best Editing, Best Production Design and Best Sound.

The four craft categories will be announced on Wednesday 1 October along with the other 2008 IF Award nominations including Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Music Video to name just a few.

“In our tenth year it’s great to welcome the industry’s finest to be part of the IF Awards Craft Panels this year. Their support of the IF Awards and the Australian film industry is wonderful and their talent and experience bring a real prestige to the IF Craft Awards”, said IF Awards general manager Clare Sawyer.

The top eight feature films in contention will be screened nationally in three different cities – Melbourne, Sydney, and Brisbane. The films screened to the industry professionals are the top features as rated in the IF Awards national puplic scoring, which closed on 12 September. Each industry professional will assess the films based on their individual craft merit.

Among the panel members for the IF Award for Best Director are some of Australia’s highest regarded filmmakers including Greg McLean (Wolf Creek, Rogue), Dee McLachlan (The Jammed – 2007 IF Award Best Feature Film winner), Sarah Watt (Look Both Ways), Rowan Woods (The Boys, Little Fish) and Dan Krige (West) to name just a few.

Noted editors including Nick Meyers (Balibo, Three Dollars, The Boys), Suresh Ayyar (Romulus My Father, Cedar Boys) and Frans Vandenburg (Darling! The Pieter-Dirk Uys Story, 48 Shades) will join a group of other experienced editors to watch the selection of films in three cities across Australia. They will choose 3 nominees based on their skill in editing for Cutting Edge IF Award for Best Editing.

The Zig Zag Lane IF Award for Best Sound will be judged by a panel of renowned sound professionals including Gretchen Thornburn (After the Deluge, The Surgeon), James Harvey (Rogue, The Bank Job) and Bruce Emery (Somersault, Look Both Ways).

Highly regarded production designers including Marita Mussett (The Proposition), Jo Ford (We of the Never Never), Claire Granville (Cedar Boys), Marc Barold (Star Wars Attack of the Clones) and Michelle Sotheren (Acolytes) will join others on the panel for the Production Book IF Award for Best Production Design.

Award nominees will be announced in Sydney and Brisbane on the 1st and 7th of October respectively.

The nominees will walk the star-studded red carpet at the industry’s favourite celebration at the 2008 Inside Film Awards at the Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast on Thursday 13 November. The awards will be broadcast live on SBS, and Tuesday 18 and Wednesday 19 November on SHOWTIME.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.