The 2008 IF Award nominations have been announced. Here is a comprehensive list of all the nominees:

The SHOWTIME IF Award for Best Feature Film
The Black Balloon – directed by Elissa Down and produced by Tristram Miall
Men’s Group – directed by Michael Joy and produced by Michael Joy and John L Simpson
Son of a Lion – directed by Benjamin Gilmour and produced by Carolyn Johnson

The IF Award for Best Director
David Nerlich and Andrew Traucki – Black Water
Elissa Down – The Black Balloon
Peter Duncan – Unfinished Sky

The Queensland Events Corporation IF Award for Best Actor
Rhys Wakefield – The Black Balloon
Grant Dodwell – Men’s Group
William McInnes – Unfinished Sky

The IF Award for Best Actress
Gemma Ward – The Black Balloon
Maeve Dermody – Black Water
Monic Hendrickx – Unfinished Sky

The Sony IF Award for Best Cinematography
Denson Baker ACS – The Black Balloon
Jules O’Loughlin – September
Robert Humphreys ACS – Unfinished Sky

The Dinosaur Designs IF Award for Best Music
Michael Yezerski – The Black Balloon
Haydn Walker – Men’s Group
Amanda Brown – Son of a Lion

The IF Award for Best Script
Elissa Down and Jimmy The Exploder – The Black Balloon
Michael Joy and John L Simpson – Men’s Group
Peter Duncan – Unfinished Sky

The SBS IF Award for Best Documentary
The Burning Season – Directed by Cathy Henkel and produced by Jeff Canin, Trish Lake and Cathy Henkel.
The Oasis – Co-directed by Ian Darling and Sascha Ettinger Epstein and produced by Ian Darling.
Playing In The Shadows – Co-directed and co-produced by Sascha Ettinger Epstein and Marco Ianiello

The Holding Redlich IF Award for Best Short Film
fOUR – Directed by Erin White and produced by Zyra McAuliffe
Spider – Directed by Nash Edgerton and produced by Nicole O’Donohue.
You Better Watch Out – Directed by Steve Callen and produced by Jules Callen.

The Autodesk IF Award for Best Animation
The Covenant of Mr Kasch – Co-directed and co-produced by Joshua Beahan and Ruwan de Silva
Dog With Electric Collar – Directed by Steve Baker and produced by Damon Escott.
Mutt – Directed by Glen Hunwick and produced by Beth Frey.

The IF Award for Best Short Documentary
Mad Morro – Directed by Kelrick Martin and produced by Tom Zubrycki.
Rare Chicken Rescue – Directed by Randall Wood and produced by Vickie Gest.
Undressing Vanessa – Directed by Matthew Pond and produced by Tina Lymberis.

The 3 IF Award for Best Music Video
Director Luke Eve and producer Simon Ritch – "Emergency! Emergency!" by The Hot Lies.
Directors Damon Escott and Stephen Lance and producer Leanne Tonkes – "If You Keep Losing Sleep" by Silverchair .
Directors Angus and Julia Stone, Josh Groom and Andrew Yoole and producers Madeleine Milasas and Jodie Passmore – "Just A Boy" by Angus and Julia Stone

The Production Book IF Award for Best Production Design
Nicholas McCallum – The Black Balloon
Sam Hobbs – September
Laurie Faen – Unfinished Sky

The Cutting Edge IF Award for Best Editing
Veronica Jenet ASE – The Black Balloon
Rodrigo Balart – Black Water
Suresh Ayyar – Unfinished Sky

The Zig Zag Lane IF Award for Best Sound
Paul Pirola – The Black Balloon
Sam Petty – The Square
Andrew Plain, Annie Breslin, Will Ward – Unfinished Sky

The Post Op Group Independent Spirit IF Award
Christopher Weekes, writer/director and lead actor – Bitter & Twisted
Jason Byrne, producer – Rats & Cats
Benjamin Gilmour (director) and Carolyn Johnson (producer) – Son of a Lion

The EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent
Amy Gebhardt (Director of Heart, Look Sharp)
Cris Jones (Director of The Funk)
Leon Ford (Director of Katoomba, Actor The Last Chip)

ZTudio What IF? Award for Best Unproduced Screenplay
Sam Voutas – Red Light Revolution
Kieran Darcy-Smith – Memorial Day
Matthew C Vaughan – Get Black

The following awards will also be presented on the night at the Inside Film Awards:

The IF Award for a Living Legend
The Screen Australia IF Award for Box Office Achievement
The Inside Film Magazine Award for Festival of the Year

The winners of the coveted IF Awards in 2008 will be revealed on Thursday 13 November when the glittering ceremony takes place on the Gold Coast. The IF Awards are broadcast on live on SBS TV and can be seen again on SHOWTIME on Tuesday 18 November and Wednesday 19 November.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.