Press release from IF Awards

Multi Award Winning Director Baz Luhrmann and Oscar Winning Designer Catherine Martin will be in the audience supporting the nominations for Australia in Best Production Design and Best Sound at the 2009 Kodak Inside Film Awards on Wednesday 18th November at Luna Park.

The Australia production design team of Catherine Martin, Ian Gracie, Karen Murphy and Beverly Dunn is nominated for the Dyson IF Award for Best Production Design while the film’s sound team Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer, Wayne Pashley and Guntis Sics are nominated for the Zig Zag Lane IF Award for Best Sound.

Baz himself won’t be walking away empty handed given the results Australia achieved in cinemas nationally.  In possibly the year’s worst kept secret, Australia is set to walk away with the coveted Cutting Edge IF Award for Box Office Achievement.

Film fans now have the chance to rub shoulders with Baz and other Australian stars on the red carpet including Sam Worthington, Megan Gale, Kat Stewart, Matt Day, Peter O’Brien, Gyton Grantley, Aden Young, Jacqueline McKenzie, Emma Booth, Vince Colosimo, Charlotte Dawson, Daniel Amalm, Daniel McPherson, Damon Gamau, Jessica Marais, Don Hany, Erik Thomson, Nathaniel Dean, Bridie Carter, Alyssa McClelland, Saskia Burmeister, Morgan Griffin, Sophie Lowe, Clayton Watson, Damien Walshe Howling, Alison Whyte, Dustin Clare, Sigrid Thornton, Natalie Bassingthwaighte, Kirk Pengilly, Oscar winning film maker Adam Elliott, who is also nominated in four categories for Mary & Max and Actress, film maker Deborah Mailman who is nominated for the The Holding Redlich IF Award for Best Short Film for Ralph, Directors of Daybreakers the Spierig Brothers Peter and Michael, and writer and star of The Wog Boy and the upcoming Wog Boy 2: Kings of Mykonos, Nick Giannopoulos.

Tickets are available from

The 2009 Kodak Inside Film Awards will be broadcast as follows:

SBS, 10pm Thursday 19th November
Showcase, 11:30pm Friday 20th November
Showcase, 5:40pm Saturday 21st November
SHOWTIME, 10:25pm Tuesday 24th November
SHOWTIME, 9:25am Wednesday 25th November


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.