Nominations announced for FCCA Awards for Australian Film

The Film Critics Circle of Australia (FCCA) have announced the nominations in the 2007 FCCA Awards for Australian Film. The Awards will be presented on Friday 1 February, 2008, at an event at Cinema Paris in Sydney hosted by Melbourne’s Film Buffs Forecast’s Paul Harris and actress Tina Bursill, followed by a cocktail function at the Bavarian Bier Café.

The Film Critics Circle of Australia is the national body of professional film critics in Australia whose aims are to promote excellence and integrity in the art of film criticism and support the advancement of Australian and international film culture. The FCCA is a cultural, non-profit organisation and a member of FIPRESCI – the international body of critics and journalists. The FCCA recognises outstanding achievement in Australian film through the FCCA Annual Awards.

Film Critics Circle of Australia Awards for Australian Film Nominees (listed alphabetically):

Best Film
The Home Song Stories  –  Producers: Liz Watts, Michael McMahon
The Jammed  –  Producers: Sally Ayre-Smith, Andrea Buck, Dee McLachlan
Noise  –  Producer: Trevor Blainey
Romulus, My Father  –  Producers: Robert Connolly, John Maynard

Best Director
Tony Ayres  –  The Home Song Stories
Dee  McLachlan  –  The Jammed
Richard Roxburgh  –  Romulus, My Father
Matthew Saville  –  Noise

Best Actress
Kerry Armstrong  –  Razzle Dazzle: A Journey Into Dance
Emily Barclay  –  Suburban Mayhem
Joan Chen  –  The Home Song Stories

Best Actor
Eric Bana  –  Romulus, My Father
Brendan Cowell  –  Noise
Joel Lok  –  The Home Song Stories

Best Screenplay
Tony Ayres  –  The Home Song Stories
Helen Barnes & Michael James Rowland  –  Lucky Miles 
Dee McLachlan  –  The Jammed
Matthew Saville  –  Noise

Best Cinematography
László Baranyai  –  Noise
Nigel Bluck  –  The Home Song Stories
Geoff Burton  –  Lucky Miles 
Geoffrey Simpson  –  Romulus, My Father

Best Editing
Suresh Ayyar  –  Romulus, My Father
Henry Dangar  –  Lucky Miles  
Denise Haratzis  –  The Home Song Stories
Geoff Hitchins  –  Noise

Best Actor – Supporting Role
Marton Csokas  –  Romulus, My Father
Kodi Smit-McPhee  –  Romulus, My Father
Richard Wilson  –  Clubland
Best Actress – Supporting Role
Emma Booth  –  Clubland
Saskia Burmeister  –  The Jammed
Iren Chen  –  The Home Song Stories

Best Music Score
Basil Hogios  –   Romulus, My Father
Bryony Marks  –  Noise
Anthony Partos  –  The Home Song Stories
Graham Tardif  –  Dr Plonk

Best Foreign Language Film
The Lives of Others
Director: Florian Henckel Von Donnersmarck
Australian Distributor: Hopscotch
4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days
Director: Christian Mungiu
Australian Distributor: Kojo
Black Book
Director; Paul Verhoeven
The Netherlands
Australian Distributors: Sony Pictures
Pan’s Labyrinth
Director: Guillermo Del Toro
Australian Distributor: Hopscotch

Best Foreign Film – English Language
No Country For Old Men           
Directors: Ethan & Joel Coen
Australian Distributor: Roadshow Pictures
Director: Joe Wright
Australian Distributor: Universal
The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Director: Andrew Dominik
Australian Distributor: Roadshow Pictures
Into The Wild
Director: Sean Penn
Australian Distributor: Paramount Pictures

Tickets to the FCCA Awards are $35, and are available from

[release from CG-Publicity]

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *