Nowhere Boys: Book of Shadows is set to hit Australian cinemas on January 1.

After two seasons on ABC television, the 82-minute family film will bring together Felix (Dougie Baldwin, Andy (Joel Lok), Sam (Rahard Adams) and Jake (Matt Testro) for one final spell when Felix discovers a sealed Book of Shadows.

The ABC3 series, aimed at the 8-14-year-old market, began when the four teens got lost during a school excursion and found themselves in a parallell world.

The feature film will add rising star Angourie Rice to the cast. Rice first came to the screen in These Final Hours and will soon be seen in US feature The Nice Guys with Ryan Gosling.

Series regulars Darci McDonald (Ellen), Sean Ree-Wemyss (Oscar), Michala Banas (Phoebe), Victoria Thaine (Alice), Ben Keller (Bear), Tamala Shelton (Mia) and Michelle Gerster (Viv) willl also return for the film. 

The film was produced by Beth Frey for Matchbox Pictures. It was directed by David Caesar (Dirty Deeds, Idiot Box, Mullet) and was created by Tony Ayres (Cut Snake, The Slap, Glitch) and written by Tony Ayres, Rhys Graham and Craig Irvin. 

It will be released theatrically by Backlot Films on January 1 and will have its television premiere on ABC3 soon after.

Backlot Films co-founder Tony Ianiro said working with Matchbox Pictures and representing their film during the biggest box office period of the year was very exciting.

"Nowhere Boys : The Book of Shadows, like Paper Planes and Oddball, is an example of a locally made family film which will appeal to audiences during the summer holiday break and stand proudly alongside the tentpole blockbusters released during that period."

The film will be distributed internationally by NBCUniversal and in Australia and New Zealand by the Australian Children's Television Foundation.

Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows is produced by Matchbox Pictures in Association with the ABC, with financial assistance of Scrren ABC and Film Victoria.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.