Earlier this week, the 2009 Screen Music Awards were held at Sydney’s City Recital Hall. The event is run by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC) to recognize and celebrate the efforts of often-anonymous Australian screen composers.

A full list of winners can be found below.

Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen hosting the awards

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts, Peter Garrett, with the winner of the International Achievement Award, Sydney composer Guy Gross

East Timorese-born composer Ego Lemos (l), who received the award for Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for the title-track Balibo, with Wendy Richardson from Sony ATV

Rob Carlton and Cameron Bruce

Special guest presenter Steve Knapman

Composer Brett Aplin, who won the award for Best Music for a Short Film for Lucy Wants to Kill Herself

The full list of winners

More information can be found at www.apra-amcos.com.au and www.agsc.org.au.

International Achievement Award
Guy Gross
Best Music for an Advertisement
Title            Optus Whale Song 
Composer        Bruce Heald   
Publisher        Noise International Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Documentary
Title            Sidney Nolan: Mask and Memory 
Composer        Amanda Brown 
Publisher    Sandcastle Music Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Short Film
Title    Lucy Wants to Kill Herself  
Composer        Brett Aplin

Best Soundtrack Album
Title            Death Defying Acts
Composer         Cezary Skubiszewski
Publisher        Albert Music

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Title            Balibo
Composer    Ego Lemos   
Publishers    SFM Publishing administered by Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia P/L

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title            The Adventures of Charlotte and Henry
Composer         Sean Peter

Best Television Theme
Title            Satisfaction
Composers         Cameron Giles-Webb / Colin Simkins
Publisher        Gusto Music Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Title            McLeod’s Daughters
Composer         Alastair Ford
Publisher        Nine Films & Television Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
Title            The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce
Composer        Roger Mason
Publisher        Sandcastle Music Pty Ltd
Best Feature Film Score:
Title            Balibo
Composer        Lisa Gerrard 
Publisher    Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia P/L

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia*
Composer        Jay Stewart

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas*
Composer        Neil Sutherland

*Determined by statistical analysis

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.