Anni Browning. 

Former Film Finances Australasia head Anni Browning will be the recipient of this year’s Screen Producers Australia (SPA) Lifetime Achievement Award.

Browning announced she was stepping down as managing director of the completion bond company earlier this year, handing the reins to Dan Read. She had worked for the organisation for 22 years, nine of which as its head, but remains in an advisory position.

Invited to join Film Finances Australasia in the 1990s by producer Sue Milliken, Browning brought to the company already 20 years of experience in a range of capacities, including multiple roles in art departments and producing two award-winning documentaries, Canoeing the Murray, for the South Australian Government and Getting Even — Women in Australian Politics, for the ABC.

Over the years, Browning has served as a councillor for SPAA, the ATAEA; been a co-convenor of Queer Screen; consulted for NZ On Air, the ABC, the Australian Film Commission and the Australian Broadcasting Authority; sat on the boards of ABC South Australia and the WIFT SA board, and is currently a Dame Changer board member. She also founded and hosted a series of women-only Cat Pac lunches at the Cannes Film Festival for high-profile producers from across the world; her response to the existence of Hollywood’s Rat Pac.

“Anni has been an invaluable asset to the screen industry during her tenure at Film Finances, helping to share hundreds of stories with not only Australia, but audiences around the world, and supporting innumerable producers, directors and screen professionals from the very beginning of their careers. I can think of no one more deserving of this honour, and look forward to celebrating with her in less than a month’s time,” said SPA CEO Matthew Deaner.

Browning will be presented with the honour at SPA’s annual awards in November in Melbourne, with the organisation also announcing today the nominees for the business awards. Members of SPA’s council will now judge the nominations.

The full list of finalists:

Breakthrough Business of the Year
• Closer Productions
• Lingo Pictures
• LateNite Films
• The Full Box

Media Super Production Business of the Year
• Fremantle
• Goalpost Pictures
• Hoodlum
• Ludo Studio
• Matchbox Pictures
• WildBear Entertainment

Screen Business Export of the Year
• Fremantle (Wentworth)
• Hoodlum (Tidelands)
• Ludo Studio (Bluey)
• Porchlight Films (Animal Kingdom)

Services and Facilities Business of the Year
• CATO Location Services
• Count Out Loud
• Roar Digital
• Tracks Post Production

Other nominees were announced in August. 

The SPA Awards ceremony takes place at the Forum Theatre, Melbourne November 14, the final night of the Screen Forever conference.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.