Filmmakers Sue Taylor and Amanda Higgs have been appointed to the ScreenWest board for three years.

Taylor was previously an inaugural member of the ScreenWest board and in 2001, established her own production company, Taylor Media, whose credits include feature films The Tree and Last Train to Freo; telemovie 3 Acts of Murder; mini-series The Shark Net; and children's TV series Time Trackers. She was also recently appointed the vice-president of the Screen Producers Association of Australia.

Higgs, who spent several years as an executive producer of drama at the ABC, recently script-edited ABC mini-series The Slap and executive produced Fox8 teen series SLiDE.

WA culture and the arts minister, John Day, said ScreenWest has an established reputation, having overseen the state government's investment in successful films such as Bran Nue Dae and Red Dog.

"I am confident that with the appointment to the board of experienced filmmakers Sue Taylor and Amanda Higgs we can look forward to a period of further growth in Western Australia's screen industry," he said in a statement.

The departing ScreenWest board members are Robyn Kershaw, Andrew Lewis and Catherine Ferrari, reducing the number of board representatives to eight instead of nine.

Contact this reporter at or on Twitter at @bcswift.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.