SundanceTV is set to co-produce the second season of Celia Pacquola and Luke McGregor’s Rosehaven with the ABC, What Horse?, and Guesswork Television. 

The US network has also acquired the rights to the first season, the ABC’s highest rating comedy last year.

This is not the first co-production between the two networks, with SundanceTV also a co-producer on Cleverman.

“When making our show in a small town in Tasmania, it's hard to imagine, next stop Hollywood! But here we are. We are so excited about Rosehaven making it all the way to the U.S.,” said writer, creator and star Pacquola.

 “The first season is quirky, charming, relatable, sweet, and hilarious – all the ingredients of great comedy,” said SundanceTV and SundanceNow GM Jan Diedrichsen.

“We’re thrilled to partner with the ABC to bring this amazing show not only back for a second season but also to U.S. audiences.”

Set for an eight episode run, Rosehaven season two will shoot next month in Tasmania around Hobart and the Huon Valley. Post will be completed in Victoria.

Pacquola will once again be rejoined by fellow series creator and co-star Luke McGregor, as well as David Quirk, Kris McQuade, Katie Roberston, Sam Cotton and Noela Foxtrot. 

Both Jonathan Brough and Shaun Wilson will return to direct. 

The show's producer is Andrew Walker and co-producer is Fiona McConaghy. Kevin Whyte is executive producer, as well as Rick Kalowski and Brett Sleigh from the ABC.

Rosehaven is a show very close to my heart – among my favourite comedies we've ever done at ABC. To bring it back for more and to an even bigger audience thanks to our U.S. partners at SundanceTV is a wonderful honour", said Kalowski, ABC’s head of comedy.

The second season has received investment from both Screen Tasmania and Film Victoria. 

Rosehaven season two is expected to air on both SundanceTV and ABC TV in the last quarter of the year. After its linear run, it will also be streamed on SundanceNow in the US and Canada, as well as on ABC iview. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.