Press release from ABC-TV

The award-winning novel by Christos Tsiolkas, The Slap, will be developed into a television series by ABC TV and Matchbox Pictures.

The eight-part drama series will begin development in November, and will go into production in Melbourne in 2010.
ABC TV’s Acting Head of Drama, Amanda Higgs, says the drama will resonate with audiences. “The Australian novel that provoked fiery discussion from offices to dinner parties to mothers’ groups and suburban barbeques will become the most talked about series on television.  It is terrific to be collaborating with our partners at Matchbox Pictures.”
The series will be produced by Helen Bowden (Lou, Girl in a Mirror,) and Michael McMahon (The Home Song Stories, Saved), Tony Ayres (Saved, Walking On Water) is the Script Producer, Penny Chapman (My Place, RAN) is Executive Producer and Christos Tsiolkas is Associate Producer and Story Consultant.
The writing team includes Alice Bell (Suburban Mayhem), Emily Ballou (Father Lands), Michael Miller (East West 101, The Secret Life of Us), Kris Mrksa (East West 101, The King, Underbelly) and Cate Shortland (Somersault).
Matchbox’s Helen Bowden says: "Christos has created a fascinating set of characters and a riveting tale.  It cries out for an adaptation into a major television series that explores issues of race, class, family and relationships in contemporary Australia and we hope to do it justice.  We are thrilled to be working with some of Australia’s leading screen talent in creating the series and to be making it for ABC TV, who is at the forefront of bold and entertaining television."
Christos Tsiolkas says “The ABC has always felt like the natural home for The Slap. It’s an opportunity to develop a ground-breaking piece of television that embodies a rawness and a diversity that we haven’t seen on our screens before. I am particularly excited by the calibre of the writers and the producers on this project, some of the most exciting talents working at present in our film and screen culture.”
This year, The Slap has won the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize, the Australian Book Industry Book of the Year award, the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award, the ABA Book of the Year and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature Gold Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.