ASEG announces 2012 Ellies award winners

The Australian Screen Editors Guild announced their 2012 award winners at the seventh annual ASE awards held over the weekend.

Affectionately dubbed ‘The Ellies,’ because of the bronze elephant statues awarded to winners, the ceremony aims to honour achievements in editing across all visual mediums.

Held at Notes in Newtown in Sydney on Saturday December 8, the Ellies drew a strong crowd, capping off what Guild President Jason Ballentine described as being a successful year.

“This has been a brilliant year. I think we can all be proud of our association,” he said.

“The ASE further expanded its national presence and is now active in five States. We continued to increase membership numbers, staged outstanding events and forums, offered free training to Members, broadened The Ellies’ Award categories and strengthened our partnerships with other Guilds. It's an incredible achievement given everyone on the Executive and State committees volunteers their time around their 'day jobs', which often become 'night jobs' too. I thank every single person involved.”

The Avid award for best editing in a feature film went to Martin Connor for his work on Burning Man, while Martin Atkin walked away with the Digital Pictures Award for Best Editing in a Television Drama for The Slap – Episode 1 ‘Hector.’

Sally Fryer and Lawrence Silvestrin were both inducted into the highly esteemed list of ASE Accredited Members in recognition of their continual outstanding work, while Roberta Horslie was presented with a Lifetime Membership for her passionate commitment to the profession and the Guild.

2011 recipient Henry Dangar presented Horslie with her membership, stating ““Roberta is not only a generous soul and a fine editor, but a strong advocate for editors and their rights.

“The ASE Victorian Committee and membership would not be as strong as it is today had it not been for Roberta’s unrelenting passion and commitment to the Guild."

For a full list of winners, see below.


Digistor Award for Best Editing, Open Content
Event ZeroEpisode 4, Julian Harvey

AFTRS Award for Best Editing in a Short Film
The Wilding, Anthony Cox

Autodesk Award for Best Editing in a Music Video
‘Bird on the Buffalo’ – Angus Stone, Peter Barton

EFilm Award for Best Editing in a Commercial
Volkswagen Tiguan – ‘Cross Country’, Drew Thompson ASE

Videocraft Award for Best Editing in Television Factual
Go Back To Where You Came From – Series 2, Episode 1, Orly Danon

Digital Pictures Award for Best Editing in a Television Drama
The Slap – Episode 1 ‘Hector’, Mark Atkin ASE

TwoDogs.TV Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Series
Australian Story – ‘Streets with No Names’, Steven Baras-Miller

Adobe Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Program
A Law Unto Himself, Andrea Lang ASE

Blue Post Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Feature
Paul Kelly – Stories of Me, Sally Fryer ASE

Avid Award for Best Editing in a Feature Film
Burning Man, Martin Connor

To find out more about the awards, visit