Australia’s Funniest Shorts contenders shortlisted

Rottofest has announced its 2014 comedy short film and sketch selections as part of “Australia’s Funniest Shorts”, which will be screened at the festival on Rottnest Island on September 20 2014.

Selected from over 100 entries across Australia, the 12 shorts are:


Stop Coffee – Directed by Brett Conway

Touch – Directed by Melissa Smith


Prank gone bad – Directed by Dave Jackson

Laugh Track – Directed by Fabian Lapham

Huntin Dinna – Directed by Josie Baynes

The Cut off – Directed by Sam Petersen

Makeover – Directed by Don Percy

The Boy who had no thumbs – Directed by Shaun McCarthy


The Battle of who cares less – Directed by Jeremy Brull

The Polygamist – Directed by Craig Melville


Microhappiness – Directed by Dan Rath and Arthur Filloy

Tech Support – Directed by Michael Griffin

The 12 shorts will be judged by a panel of industry experts and are in the running to win the following cash prizes:

FUNNIEST SHORT FILM – $1,000 cash prize
FUNNIEST SKETCH – $500 cash prize