Awards for The Railway Man and Rake

The Railway Man and Rake took the top film and TV drama awards while Playmaker Media was named media super production business of the year at the 14th annual Screen Producers Australia Awards on Tuesday night.

Jungleboys’ The Moodys was feted as best comedy, Matchbox Pictures’ Nowhere Boys took the children’s production gong and Artemis Productions’ Who Do You Think You Are?  was best TV documentary.

Carbon Media, which produced the first Australian indigenous segment ever aired on Sesame Street and is now co-producing Camp Crazy, a childrens’ series with Essential Media & Entertainment, was named breakthrough business of the year.

The Natalie Miller Fellowship was awarded to Deluxe Australia’s Rebecca Hammond, who will undertake a women in leadership program at the University of NSW.
The $300,000 Kickstart prize went to Jessica Leslie from Victoria, who will make a TV series for Foxtel’s Studio channel entitled Renassiance Man, the tale of a guy who faces numerous challenges in his quest to become a 21st Century Renaissance Man. She thanked her mentor Joanna Werner, with whom she worked on Dance Academy. 

Kristy O’Brien from the Northern Territory won the $20,000 ones-to-watch screen internship to work at a production company of her choice. 

The awards at the Crown Palladium were hosted in witty, self-deprecating style by Adam Zwar, who was one of the recipients when The Agony of Modern Manners, which he produces with Nicole Minchin and Amanda Brotchie, was named best light entertainment production.

Accepting the feature fiim prize, The Railway Man producer Chris Brown paid tribute to fellow producers Bill Curbishley and Andy Paterson and dedicated the award to all the diggers who returned from wars suffering from post traumatic stress.

Media Stockade’s I Am a Girl was named best feature documentary and Hoodlum’s Secrets & Lies was interactive production of the year.

As previously announced the inaugural lifetime achievement award was presented to Screentime co-founder Des Monaghan.

The full list of Award recipients of the 2014 Screen Producers Australia Awards are:

Media Super Production Business of the Year Playmaker Media

Lifetime Achievement Award Des Monaghan

Drama Television Production of the Year Rake
Essential Media and Entertainment

Comedy Television Production of the Year The Moodys

Documentary Television Production of the Year Who Do You Think You Are?
Artemis International

Children’s Television Production of the Year Nowhere Boys
Matchbox Pictures

Light Entertainment Television Production of the Year The Agony of Modern Manners
High Wire Films

Reality Television Production of the Year MasterChef
Shine Australia

Telemovie or Mini Series Production of the Year The Gods of Wheat Street
Every Cloud Productions

Feature Film Production of the Year The Railway Man
Pictures in Paradise

Feature Length Documentary Production of the Year I Am A Girl
Media Stockade

Interactive Production of the Year Secrets & Lies

Breakthrough Business of the Year Carbon Media

Services and Facilities Business of the Year Fox Studios