FTO congratulate ADG Awards’ NSW winners

[Press Release by TM Publicity]

The New South Wales Film and Television Office (FTO) has congratulated NSW recipients of the 2008 Australian Directors’ Guild Awards, announced in Sydney on Saturday night.

A number of NSW directors were acknowledged for their achievements, including Elissa Down who received the Award for Best Direction in a Feature Film for The Black Balloon. The Black Balloon was developed through the FTO’s Aurora script development program and also received production finance from the FTO.

Peter Andrikidis received the Award for Best Direction in a TV Mini-Series for East West 101 – Episode 1: The Enemy. FTO is proud to have provided script development funding and production finance for this wonderful series.

Tom Murray received the Best Direction in a Documentary Feature Award for In My Father’s Country, which also received production finance from the FTO.

Bruce Petty, political cartoonist and filmmaker, was the recipient of the Australian Directors’ Guild Outstanding Achievement Award for 2008; documentary filmmaker Tom Zubrycki received the Cecil Holmes Award; Looking for Alibrandi director Kate Woods received the Michael Carson Award for Excellence in Television Drama Direction; and Mark Turnbull was awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award for First Assistant Director.

“New South Wales is the home for many world class filmmakers. It was a delight to host both the ADG Awards and Conference in Sydney and we congratulate all winners at the Awards,” said Tania Chambers, Chief Executive of the FTO.