Greig Fraser wins ACS Milli Award for Bright Star

The Australian Cinematographers Society has bestowed Greig Fraser with their most prestigious annual award for his work on feature film Bright Star.

Fraser’s stunning cinematography on the 2009 Jane Campion period piece, centred on the poet John Keats and his romantic relationship with Fanny Brawne, won him the Milli Award for Australian Cinematographer of the Year.

The award, handed out at the 2011 ACS National awards in Adelaide over the weekend, sits alongside last year’s AFI award for best cinematography and a 2009 British Independent Film Award for best technical achievement in cinematography.

Fraser was also awarded a Golden Tripod by the ACS in the feature film category – one of 14 handed out on the night. The other Golden Tripod winners included: Stephen Windon ACS, JoAnne Bouzianis-Sellcik, Simon Ozolins, Matthew Bonser, Matthew Allard, Justin Hanrahan, Tony Luu ACS, Simon Christidis ACS, Callan Green, Danny Ruhlmann ACS, Calvin Gardiner ACS and Nima Nabili Rad.

Three ACS members: Ron Taylor ACS, Valerie Taylor and Malcolm Richards, were also inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame, while the International Cinematographer of the Year Award was accepted via video by Wally Pfister ASC for Inception.

Meanwhile, the ACS-NFSA John Leake OAM ACS Award to an Emerging Cinematographer was presented to Edward Goldner, who received a $5000 cash prize which will enable him to attend the Budapest Cinematography Masterclass this year.

The ACS national awards will be screened on the Movie Network Channel, STARPICS, on Saturday, May 7 at 10.30pm.

Video excerpts from the winning entries can be viewed here while the full list of awards can be found here.