Hannah Gadsby, Damon Herriman to be honoured at AiF Awards

Hannah Gadsby. 

Damon Herriman, Hannah Gadsby, Keiynan Lonsdale and Eliza Scanlen are among those to be honoured at the upcoming in Australians in Film (AiF) Awards, to be held LA in October.

Herriman (Justified, Mr Inbetween, Lambs of God), who was recently cast as Charles Manson in Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon A Time in Hollywood, will receive the Qantas Orry-Kelly Award, which celebrates an Australian who has contributed to the national identity with their body of work and has created opportunities/inspiration for other Aussies abraod.

Damon Herriman.

Previous recipients include Tim Minchin, film executive Greg Basser, producer Bruna Papandrea, directors Baz Luhrmann and John Polson, and filmmaking collective, Blue-Tongue Films.

Herriman said: “I’m incredibly humbled to be the recipient of the 2018 Qantas Orry-Kelly Award. When I look at the previous recipients I feel even more so. Thank you to Australians in Film for this wonderful honour. Having experienced Los Angeles before AiF, I can say that the place is infinitely better with them around.”

Gadsby (Nanette, Please Like Me), will receive the Create NSW Annette Kellerman Award. The award, named after the actress, writer and professional swimmer, celebrates a trailblazing woman in Hollywood. It has previously been presented to Rebel Wilson and director Kate Dennis.

“There is no mystery to how I came to be the recipient of the Annette Kellerman Award, I love neck to knee swimwear, I excelled at synchronised swimming (individual category) and Annette is an anagram of Nanette – like everything in Hollywood it is about connections,” said Gadsby.

Eliza Scanlen.

Lonsdale (The Flash, Love, Simon) and Scanlen (Sharp ObjectsLittle Women) will share the Screen Australia Breakthrough Award, which recognises who have had major international presence over the past year.

“So grateful to be a recipient of the Screen Australia Breakthrough Award this year, and to be recognised by AiF,” said Lonsdale.

“I hope it can inspire kids back home (particularly in Western Sydney) to know their dreams can break barriers, and they can find themselves a beautiful part of the film industry.”

Scanlen said: “I am incredibly honoured to receive one of the Screen Australia Breakthrough Awards for 2018. My love for acting began with Australians, as an Australian. In these past two years exploring beyond that, the AiF community has been a great support and reminder of what home is to me. I feel grateful to be awarded this opportunity and hope to continue working with filmmakers to tell stories that matter.”

Keiynan Lonsdale.

Film editor Lee Smith, who won an Academy Award earlier this year for his work on Dunkirk, will receive the Fox Studios International Award, while Breath producer Mark Johnson will receive the Ausfilm International Award.

The AiF Awards, which are a fundraising event, will be held at Paramount Pictures Studios October 24 and hosted by writer/director/producer/actor Josh Lawson (The Little Death, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues).