IF Awards team wants Rising Talent entries

The 2008 Inside Film Awards announced on Friday May 30, that entries are now open for the prestigious EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent and for the second year, this award is open to public entries.
The Rising Talent Award is the Inside Film Awards way of recognising and supporting new talent in the Australian film industry. 2008 marks this awards seventh year – with a host of exceptional industry talents having won the Award previously, including; director Matt Saville (Noise), actor Anthony Hayes (The Boys, Look Both Ways) and producer Kath Shelper (Nana).
 “Australia has a strong pool of talented filmmakers out there and we want to draw the general public’s attention to them through our televised awards in November. As an industry, it is essential that we celebrate the new entrants in the field and the EFilm IF Rising Talent Award does just that”, said Clare Sawyer, General Manager of The Inside Film Awards.
Previously an Atlab-sponsored award, this year for the first time Efilm will present the award. Dominic Case, Director of Communications for the Atlab Group which includes Efilm, says, “We are thrilled to be presenting the Efilm IF Rising Talent Award. It’s a great opportunity to be able to reward impressive newer filmmakers as they join the ranks of the more established industry leaders. Efilm is a pretty new operation, and young at heart, offering design-led digital postproduction services, and working alongside long-established Atlab – so we know what it’s like.”
Other past winners include; director and composer Andrew Lancaster who is set to direct his first feature Accidents Happen; Peter Templeman (2006) whose short film The Saviour was nominated for an Academy Award© in 2007; Garth Davis (2004) who made his name in the commercial world with his innovative, award winning Toohey’s “tongue” commercial. Garth has also directed the second series of the multi-award winning Love My Way; 2003 winner Matthew Saville has since burst onto the scene with his feature Noise last year as well as his telemovie The King. International Award winning producer Kath Shelper won in 2005 – her short film Green Bush won the Best Short Film Award at Berlin Film Festival 2005, and Nana won the Holding Redlich IF Award for Best Short Film in 2007.

The latest Rising Talent recipient is Cinematographer and Director Bonnie Elliott who is poised to shoot her first feature in Iran later this year with assistance from the Adelaide Film Festival. Bonnie also just completed directing the Inside Film Awards trailer for 2008.
The Inside Film Awards both champions emerging talent as well as honouring the pioneers of the Australian film industry. These new initiatives support the industry by recognising talented creative individuals making their mark. Entries for the 2008 EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent close on Friday 25 July 2008. For full application requirements, conditions and downloadable entry forms go to the 2008 Inside Film Awards website,
The 2008 Inside Film Awards will bring a touch of glamour to the Gold Coast on November 13.
Have your say – log on to to rate films you’ve seen!

[release by Limelight PR]

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *