MAX Tropscore finalists unveiled

Press release from Sally Burleigh Public Relations

Movie Extra Tropfest and MAX today announced the Top 3 Finalists for MAX TROPSCORE, the incredible competition which celebrates music in film by offering a creative platform for musicians to participate in the art of composing a score for a short film.

With over 180 entries submitted, it has been a very successful second year for MAX TROPSCORE and the calibre of talent involved was exceptional. Entrants created an original musical score or synch for a three minute short film created by Sam Curtain, a talented, up and coming Australian filmmaker.

The MAX TROPSCORE Top 3 Finalists are:

1. SAM WYATT (South Australia)

2. SPIKE SURADI (Victoria)

3. ZAC CRANKO (New South Wales)

One of these finalists will be announced the winner of MAX TROPSCORE 2010 and will have the opportunity to perform their score at Movie Extra Tropfest 2010 and have their composition included on the 2010 Movie Extra Tropfest Finalist DVD in The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age. They will also win a Gibson DSM Dreadnaught acoustic guitar and a one year membership for the Australian Guild of Screen Composers. The two runners up in the competition will each receive a Gibson SG Standard electric guitar.

The winner will be determined by a panel of judges consisting of Paul Mac (Musician), Clare Bowditch (Musician), Pluto Goneski (2009 MAX Tropscore Winner), Burkhard Dallwitz (Composer), Megan Brown (Creative Director – Music Channels, XYZnetworks) and Andrew Mast (Group Managing Editor, Street Press Australia).

You can view the Top 3’s entries at The winner of MAX TROPSCORE will be revealed at Movie Extra Tropfest on Sunday 21 February.

MAX TROPSCORE is produced by Movie Extra Tropfest in association with principal partner MAX. The competition is supported by Street Press Australia and Gibson.