Men’s Group, Rogue nominated for ASE Elephants

[Press Release by Australian Screen Editors Guild]

Lindi Harrison, President of the Australian Screen Editors Guild, today announced the nominees for the 2008 Australian Screen Editors Guild Awards.

Nominees in the category of Best Feature Film include the lyrical The Painted Veil edited by Alexandre di Francheschi ASE, and the terrifying Rogue edited by two time best feature nominee Jason Ballantine, ASE.

Nominees in each category include a mix of ASE Accreditees and newcomers. The four editors honoured with nominations in Documentary, the category representing the highest number of entries to the Guild Awards, are James Bradley ASE, Jane St Vincent Welch ASE, Andrew Arestides ASE and Beckett Broda,

For the first time the ASE will he honouring editors of Commercials with a dedicated Award. Although the works in this category are the shortest, editors in the know often see these productions as the hardest to cut, requiring the telling of a compelling story arc in 60 seconds or less.

A complete list of nominees and their productions in all six awards categories – Feature Film, Documentary, Television Drama, Television Non-Drama, Short Films and Commercials – can be found below.

The Awards presentation night will be held at the Vanguard, Newtown on Sunday December 21 commencing at 6:30pm. For tickets and information visit or contact Margaret Slarke at

And the ASE 2008 nominees are:

Pete Whitmore ASE – Carlton Draught “Sky Troopers”
Danny Tait – Heineken “Continental Drift”
Drew Thompson ASE – Toyota “Earth’s Greatest 4WD”
Stewart Reeves – Toyota “Every Bit Brilliant”
Television Non-Drama
Philippa Rowlands ASE – “Charlotte & Jordans Runway to LA” Ep2
Enzo Tedeschi – “Gardening for kids with Madi”
Tanya Trouchoulias – “Angels & Demons”- Enough Rope Special        
Adrian Rostirolla – “Inspiring Teachers – Michael Parker”   

Television Drama
Peter Carrodus ASE – “Underbelly” Ep 9
James Manche ASE- All Saints” Ep 417   
Andrew MacNeil ASE – “All Saints” Ep. 434   
Bill Russo ASE – “Crocodile Dreaming”           

Feature Films
Alexandre di Francheschi ASE- “The Painted Veil”
Veronika Jenet ASE – “The Black Balloon”       
Stuart Morley – “Men’s Group”           
Jason Ballantine ASE – “Rogue”        

Short Films
Jack Hutchings – “Jerrycan”       
Zen Rosenthal – “Four”        
Adrian Rostirolla – “The Ground Beneath”
Katrina Barker – “A Natural Talent”

Beckett Broda – “The Fabulous Flag Sisters”           
Jane St Vincent Welch ASE – “Maverick Mother”   
James Bradley ASE    – “In my Father’s Country”       
Andrew Arestides ASE – “The Cars that ate China”