Nylon creates the sound of the 1970s for Ausse film Drift

Press release

Award-winning Sydney sound house Nylon Studios is proud to announce its composer Michael Yezerski is behind the music score for Australian feature film Drift, a world wide mind films production, co-directed by Ben Nott and Morgan O’Neill.

The film, which stars Sam Worthington, Lesley-Ann Brandt and Xavier Samuel, centres on the story of two brothers growing up in the ‘70s who battle killer waves, a conservative society and ruthless bikers to kick-start the modern surf industry.

Yezerski collaborated with Drift producer Michele Bennett and music supervisor Andrew Kotatko to create a dynamic musical score that would faithfully evoke the sounds of the 1970’s and transition seamlessly with the film’s source tracks, which include songs by The Black Keys and The Jezabels.
“From the outset, the directors had a very clear musical vision for the film and both are really fluent in music so they knew exactly what they wanted,” said Yezerski. “To hit the right tone, I worked with some of Sydney’s best singers including Nylon’s own Guy Brown (lead singer of Mammals) and Nathaniel Joyce,” he added.

In a quest to re-create ‘70s inspired melodies, Yezerski sourced a bunch of vintage equipment, unearthing old guitar pedals and a rare analogue synthesizer. He also enlisted the talent of local musicians including drummer Lucius Borich and guitarist Krishna Jones – both specialists in re-creating the decade’s most authentic rock sounds.

“It was great to be a part of such a collaborative project that involved Nylon’s most talented musicians for a film that brought out a community feel for those who worked on it and for audiences who will relate to a critical time in Australia’s surf history,” said Nylon executive producer Karla Henwood.

The soundtrack for Drift is now available to download on iTunes: