Transmission celebrates 21 AACTA nominations

Press release from Transmission

Transmission Films is celebrating a total of 21 AACTA nominations for its 2011 slate of Australian cinema releases.

'Eye of the Storm' topped the nominations tally with 12 nominations, 'Mad Bastards' received five nominations, 'Sleeping Beauty' received three and 'Griff the Invisible' received one nomination.

'Eye of the Storm' and 'Mad Bastards' were both nominated for Best Film. 'Eye of the Storm', directed by Fred Schepisi, has also received nominations for Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design Best Lead Actor – Geoffrey Rush, Best Lead Actress – Judy Davis, Best Lead Actress – Charlotte Rampling, Best Supporting Actor – John Gaden, Best Supporting Actress – Helen Morse, Best Supporting Actress – Alexandra Schepisi and the AFI Member's Choice Award.

'Mad Bastards'’ additional nominations are for Best Film, Best Screenplay, Best Sound, the AFI Member's Choice Award and Best Young Actor – Lucas Yeeda.

'Sleeping Beauty' has been nominated for Best Cinematography, Best Production Design and Best Costume Design. 'Griff the Invisible' has been nominated for Best Screenplay.

“Transmission Films has a deep commitment to Australian cinema. We respect and admire the creativity, tenacity and passion of our local filmmakers and, as distributors, we love rolling up our sleeves and working hard to get their films out to Australian audiences,” said Richard Payten, Transmission Films Joint Managing Director.

“Our congratulations to Fred, Brendan, Julia and Leon, their creative teams and amazing cast members for this stunning result in the AACTA nominations.”