Wayne Blair takes the helm of ‘SeaChange’ reboot

Sigrid Thornton and John Howard.

Brooke Satchwell, Dan Wyllie, Darren McMullen and Katrina Milosevic have joined the cast of Every Cloud Productions and ITV Studios Australia’s SeaChange, which started production today.

Wayne Blair is the set up director and Lois Randall is producing the Nine Network reboot set 20 years after the ABC series created by Deb Cox and Andrew Knight.

Sigrid Thornton reprises her role as Laura Gibson, who returns to Pearl Bay after the breakup of her marriage and losing her job. Questioning her place in the world she learns that her family and her town need her as much as she needs them.

John Howard returns as the former mayor Bob Jelly with Kerry Armstrong as Heather Jelly, his estranged wife, and Kevin Harrington as local business owner Kev Findlay.

Satchwell is Miranda Gibson, Laura’s daughter. Also new to the cast are Ella Newton, Kate Lister and Alex Tarrant.

The other directors are Corrie Chen, Kevin Carlin and Peter Templeman. The writing team comprises Cox, Elizabeth Coleman, Jamie Browne, Michael Miller, Jo Martino, Ian Meadows and Joshua Mapleston. Anousha Zarkesh is casting director.

The EPs are Thornton, Fiona Eagger, David Mott and Nine’s Andy Ryan and Jo Rooney. The investors include Screen Australia and Create NSW. The international distributor is ITV Studios Global Entertainment.

ITV owns the format to the show which was produced originally by Artist Services for the ABC.