Zak Hilditch’s Transmission wins top prize at St Kilda

Zak Hilditch's short film Transmission took out the prize for Best Short Film at the St Kilda Film Festival overnight.

Hilditch and producer Liz Kearney were presented with a $10,000 cheque City of Port Phillip Mayor Rachel Powning at the St Kilda Town Hall.

The film, which tells the story of a deadly pandemic and its impact on a father-daughter relationship, also picked up awards for Best Director (for Hilditch), Best Actor (Angourie Rice) and Best Achievement in Editing (for Merlin Cornish).

Screen Australia supported the production of Transmission via its Springboard program. The short was made to support upcoming feature film These Final Hours, which is set to shoot in and around Perth in the second half of this year.

Seven minute documentary The Globe Collector took out Best Documentary for director Summer DeRoche and producer Andrea Distefano.

Any Questions for Ben? actor Josh Lawson won Best Achievement in Screenplay for After Credits, while the sci-fi short Cryo from Oscar nominees Drew Bailey and Luke Doolan, received the award for best production design.

For a complete list of winners, see below:

Best Short Film
Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch / Prod. Liz Kearney

Craft Award
Winner: Into the Sun – Dir. Amy Gebhardt / Prod. Allison Lockwood
Commendation: Ten Quintillion – Dir. Romilly Spiers / Prod. Romilly Spiers, Daniel Gregg

Best Director
Transmission – Dir. Zak Hilditch

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking

Yapawarnti Palu Rijikarrijani – Dir. Kai Raisbeck / Prod. Kai Raisbeck

Best Documentary

The Globe Collector – Dir. Summer DeRoche / Prod. Andrea Distefano

Best Animation

The Missing Key – Dir. Jonathan Nix /Prod. Garth Nix

Best Comedy

Boo! – Dir. Rupert Reid / Prod. Matthew Reeder

Best Actor
Angourie Rice – Transmission

Best Achievement in Screenplay

After the Credits – Josh Lawson

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Paper Planes – Nick Matthews ACS

Best Achievement in Editing
Transmission – Merlin Cornish

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Light as a Feather – David McDonnell

Best Achievement in Production Design
Cryo – Karen Murphy

Best Original Score

The Missing Key – Miles Nicholas, Jonathan Nix, Kathryn Brownhill

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production
Nullarbor – Matt Bauer

Under the Radar – Best Youth Short Film

The Trouble with Alexander – Directed and Produced by Blake Borcich

SBS Award Winner

THE WILDING, directed by Grant Scicluna and produced by Jannine Barnes.