Australian Screen Editors’ guild announce 2011 award nominees

The Australian Screen Editors' (ASE) guild has unveiled the nominees for its sixth annual awards.

The awards – nicknamed ‘The Ellies’ – recognise outstanding achievements in editing across all visual mediums and will be presented on December 4 at The Vanguard in Newtown, Sydney.

Among the feature film nominees are: Meredith Watson Jeffrey (Blame), Claire Fletcher (Mad Bastards), Dany Cooper ASE (Oranges and Sunshine), and Marcus D’Arcy (Tomorrow When the War Began). The TV drama nominees are: Nicole La Macchia (East West 101, Series 3, Episode 14), Rodrigo Balart (Hawke), Stephen Evans (Rush, Episode 308), and Martin Connor (Spirited, Series 1, Episode 2).

Actor Rob Carlton (Underbelly, Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo) will host this year’s Ellies.

"If you're an actor, hosting the awards night for the Screen Editors is a high-stakes business," he joked. "Get it right and I'm assured lots of smouldering close-ups. Get it wrong and all you'll ever see is my ugly side in wide shots."

ASE membership is at an all time high, according to the guild, which has hosted a record number of public and industry focused events in 2011 and launched new committees in Perth and Adelaide.

Check out the current issue of IF magazine (#143 Oct-Nov) for our special feature on editing, which includes an article by ASE president Jason Ballantine ASE.

The full list of 2011 'Ellie' nominees are:

Avid Award for Best Editing in a Feature Film
Blame – Meredith Watson Jeffrey
Mad Bastards – Claire Fletcher
Oranges and Sunshine – Dany Cooper ASE
Tomorrow When the War Began – Marcus D’Arcy

Blue Post Award for Best Editing in a Documentary
The Ball – Steven Robinson ASE & Mark Atkin ASE
Girls Own War Stories – Antoinette Ford
Jandamarra’s War – Lawrence Silvestrin
Scarlet Road – Andrea Lang ASE

Digital Pictures Award for Best Editing in Television Drama
East West 101, Series 3, Episode 14 – Nicole La Macchia
Hawke – Rodrigo Balart
Rush, Episode 308 – Stephen Evans
Spirited, Series 1, Episode 2 – Martin Connor

Omnilab Media Award for Best Editing in Television Non-Drama
The Amazing Race Australia, Episode 5 – Thomas Meadmore & Joel Page
Go Back to Where You Came From, Episode 3 – Matthew Walker
On Trial, Episode 1 – Denise Haslem ASE
Outback Fight Club, Episode 1 – Philippa Rowlands ASE

EFILM Award for Best Editing in a Commercial
Bunderburg Rum – Stewart Reeves
Carlton Draught Slo Mo – Peter Whitmore ASE
NAB 3 Year Olds – Bernard Garry ASE
Nokia Success: HK Honey – David Whittaker

AFTRS Awards for Best Editing in a Short Film
Fully Famous – Brad Hurt
Kiss – Danielle Boesenberg
Ostia – La Notte Finale – Adrian Chiarella
Something Fishy
– Melanie Annan

Level Two Music Award for Best Editing in a Music Video
Brian McFadden Mistakes – Brad Hurt
Schvendes Lay the Noose – Matt Osborne
Son of Kick Playing the Villain – Dan Lee
Tim & Jean Don’t Stop – Alan Harca