CinefestOZ names film prize jury

Sigrid Thornton.

Sigrid Thornton will chair the film prize jury at the fifth CinefestOZ Film Festival which runs from August 22-26.

Joining her will be Animal Logic CEO and producer Zareh Nalbandian, Western Australian actress Tasma Walton, (Cleverman, Mystery Road), WA producer Tania Chambers (Kill Me Three Times, A Few Best Men) and actor Michael Caton.

Stephen McCallum’s 1%, Bruce Beresford’s Ladies in Black, Benjamin Gilmour’s Jirga and Mark Grentell’s The Merger will compete for the $100,000 prize. The winner will be announced at the festival’s gala night on August 25.

CinefestOZ Chair Helen Shervington said: “The jury is a wonderfully diverse and talented collective. We look forward to welcoming them to the festival and their ultimate verdict.”

There will be 117 screenings, 80 per cent higher than in 2017, including 11 world and 18 Australian premieres. Tickets are available at