More Aussies invited to join Oscars Academy

Liz Watts and Ivan Sen.

Directors Jennifer Kent and Ivan Sen, producer Liz Watts and Oscar-nominated production designer Fiona Crombie have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Film editor Dany Cooper, composer Jed Kurzel, Animal Logic founder Zareh Nalbandian, make-up artist Rosalina Da Silva, cinematographer Ari Wegner and stunt performer Glenn Boswell are also among 842 new members of the Oscars body.

Kent (The Nightingale, The Babadook) has been invited to join the directors and writers branches. Nalbandian and Boswell (Mortal Engines, The Hobbit trilogy) are among the members-at-large group.

Cooper’s latest credits include Jim Loach’s Measure of a Man, Mirrah Foulkes’ Judy & Punch and Unjoo Moon’s I Am Woman.

Kurzel composed the music for French director/actor Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre’s The Mustang, Julius Avery’s Overlord and The Nightingale.

Watts is executive producing Stateless, a six-part drama about four strangers in an immigration detention centre for the ABC, after producing David Michôd’s The King and Justin Kurzel’s True History of the Kelly Gang.

Sen’s latest film is Loveland, a romantic sci-fi drama from Bunya Productions, which stars newcomer Jillian Nguyen, Hugo Weaving and Ryan Kwanten.

Crombie worked on The King after her Oscar nomination for The Favourite, shared with set decorator Alice Felton, who also joins the Academy.

Wegner shot True History of the Kelly Gang, Dustin Feneley’s Stray and TV’s The Girlfriend Experience in the past couple of years.

Da Silva’s recent credits include the TBS TV series Snowpiercer and the movies Overboard and Fifty Shades Freed.

Of this year’s intake, 50 per cent are women, an increase of 7 per cent on 2015. But women represent just 32 per cent of the entire organisation.

Ten of the 17 Academy branches invited more women than men, including directors, writers, executives, makeup and hair, costume design and casting.

Some 29 per cent of the new class are people of colour, which means that cohort now accounts for 16 per cent of the total membership, double that of 2015.

Among the invitees, 21 are already Oscar winners and 82 are Oscar nominees. New members among the acting branch include Best Song winner Lady Gaga, who is also invited to join the music branch, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Jamie Bell, Sterling K. Brown, Marina De Tavira, Claire Foy, Damian Lewis, Archie Panjabi and Amanda Peet.

The actors range in age from 23-year-old Spider-Man Tom Holland to 88-year-old French star Jean-Louis Trintignant.

Like last year, new members are drawn from a a total of 59 countries. Overall membership will now be more than 9,000.