Five new categories in SPA Awards

Screen Producers Australia today announced five new categories in the 14th annual Screen Producers Australia Awards.

The new gongs are for best telemovie or mini series, comedy TV production, reality TV production, feature length documentary, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, which will run alongside the long-established Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry.

Entries are now open until Friday August 1. The winners will be announced at the SPA Awards during the Screen Forever conference on November 18.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be reserved for individuals who are no longer working in the industry; SPA says it may not be presented every year.

Further details on the category criteria, eligibility and the judging and voting process can be found at

Also, as a submitting organisation of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards, SPA has been invited to submit up to four films to represent Australia in the APSA competition, which will be selected from the finalists in the SPA Awards feature film category.

Categories for the 14th Screen Producers Australia Awards are:


Telemovie or Mini Series Production
Drama Television Production
Children’s Television Production
Comedy Television Production
Light Entertainment Television Production
Reality Television Production
Documentary Television Production


Feature Length Documentary Production
Feature Film Production


Interactive Production

Business Awards: Recognising great Australian screen production businesses

Services and Facilities Business
Breakthrough Business
Media Super Production Business

Individual Contribution Award:

Recognising great Australians and their service to the screen industry

Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry
Lifetime Achievement Award