‘The New Boy’ wins top prize at Camerimage

'The New Boy'.

Warwick Thornton won the Golden Frog at the Camerimage Film Festival in Poland over the weekend for his cinematography on The New Boy, which he also wrote and directed.

Thornton is now the second Australian to win the main competition prize, with Greig Fraser having previously won in 2016 for Lion. Fraser would go on to be nominated for an Academy Award.

El Conde cinematographer Ed Lachman won the Silver Frog for his work on the Pablo Larrain horror fantasy, while Robbie Ryan won both the Bronze Frog and Audience Award for his work on Yorgos Lanthimos’ Poor Things.

The New Boy premiered in Cannes in May as part of the Un Certain Regard program.

Set in the 1940s, the film is led by newcomer Aswan Reid as a nine-year-old Aboriginal orphan boy who arrives in the dead of night at a remote monastery, run by a renegade nun, played by Cate Blanchett.

Deborah Mailman and Wayne Blair also star, alongside a host of other new faces Shane Brady, Tyrique Brady, Laiken Woolmington, Kailem Miller, Kyle Miller, Tyzailin Roderick and Tyler Spencer.

Producers include Dirty Films’ Blanchett, Andrew Upton, and co-producer Georgie Pym, Kath Shelper for Scarlett Pictures and Lorenzo De Maio of De Maio Entertainment. Coco Francini is the executive producer for Dirty Films alongside Packer of Longbridge Nominees.

The list of winners:

Main Competition

Golden Frog: The New Boy

cin. Warwick Thornton

dir. Warwick Thornton

Silver Frog: El Conde

cin. Ed Lachman

dir. Pablo Larraín

Bronze Frog: Poor Things

cin. Robbie Ryan

dir. Yorgos Lanthimos

Fipresci Award

The International Federation of Film Critics Award for Best Film: The Zone of Interest

cin. Łukasz Żal

dir. Jonathan Glazer

Polish Films Competition

Best Polish Film: Doppelgänger. The Double

cin. Bartłomiej Kaczmarek

dir. Jan Holoubek

Film and Art School Etudes Competition

Laszlo Kovacs Student Award – Golden Tadpole – Cremation, Or The Quarantine Hotel

cin. Wen Lau

dir. Ning Qian

School: National Taiwan University of Arts (NTUA)

Silver Tadpole: Plastic Touch

cin. Celia Morales

dir. Aitana Ahrens

School: The Madrid Film School (ECAM)

Bronze Tadpole: Poor Boy Long Way from Home

dir. Tuur Oosterlinck

cin. Jonas Hollevoet

dir: Sint-Lucas School of Arts, Brussel (LUCA)

Documentary Features Competition

Golden Frog — best feature documentary: The Echo

cin. Ernesto Pardo

dir. Tatiana Huezo

Documentary Shorts Competition

Golden Frog — best short documentary: Oasis

cin. Myriam Payette

dir. Justine Martin

Directors’ Debuts Competition

Best Director’s Debut: Inshallah a Boy

cin. Kanamé Onoyama

dir. Amjad Al-Rasheed

Cinematographers’ Debuts Competition

under the patronage of the Polish Filmmakers Association (SFP)

Best Cinematographer’s Debut: A Song Sung Blue

cin. Jiayue Hao

dir. Zihan Geng

Music Videos Competition

Best Music Video:  Son Lux „Undertow”

cin. Drew Bienemann

dir. Alex Cook

TV Series Competition

Best Episode: The Offer: A Seat at the Table

cin. Salvatore Totino

dir. Dexter Fletcher

Audience Award

Poor Things

cin. Robbie Ryan dir. Yorgos Lanthimos