AWG and AFF call for competition entries

The Australian Writers’ Guild (AWG) and the Adelaide Film Festival (AFF) are calling for entries to the fourth biennial INSITE Competition for Unproduced Feature Screenplays.

The winning screenplay will receive a rehearsed public reading during the National Screenwriters’ Conference, to be held in conjunction with the 2009 Adelaide Film Festival 2009. The winning writer will receive travel to Adelaide to participate in rehearsals and a cash prize of $2,500. A shortlist of screenplays will also be sent for to a number of Australian producers and distribution companies.

The reading will be directed by a leading Australian director and cast with professional actors. Directors in previous years have included Tony Ayres (Home Song Stories) and Kriv Stenders (Boxing Day) and actors Aden Young, Rhys Muldoon, Ernie Dingo and Leanna Walsman.

Priscilla Cameron and Heather Phillips, the winners of INSITE 2007 for their script SALT, said “INSITE was a wonderful competition to win; we gained so much as writers and filmmakers from the event.” As with winners in previous years their film is now in development.

Entry to INSITE 2009 is open to all financial members of the AWG and close 5.00pm Friday 29 August 2008. New members are encouraged to enter with reduced joining fees available for INSITE entrants. Full information, entry forms and membership applications are available from

The Australian Writers’ Guild is the peak professional body for Australia’s film, television, theatre, radio and new media writers.

The biennial Adelaide Film Festival celebrates and explores contemporary screen culture with a unique program of screenings and special events including the premiere of films commissioned by the festival. For more information go to