Peter Weir on the set of his last feature 'The Way Back'.

ADG CEO Kingston Anderson told IF earlier this year that he was angling for a high-profile director to present the Feature award at this year's ADG awards.

Now we know who it is: Peter Weir will present the Best Direction in a Feature Film award at the awards in Melbourne.

Weir will bestow the award on one of the five nominees; Garth Davis (Lion), Simon Stone (The Daughter), Ben Young (Hounds of Love), Craig Boreham (Teenage Kicks) and Jonnie Leahy (Skin Deep).

“It is a great privilege to have one of Australia’s pre-eminent directors, Peter Weir, presenting the award for Best Direction in a Feature Film," said ADG CEO Kingston Anderson. 

"We have a tradition at the awards to have our best feature directors presenting this award. Directors who have presented the award in the past include Fred Schepisi, Nadia Tass and Paul Cox. We are very excited to have Peter join us in Melbourne for the awards.”

Also presenting will be Gary Sweet, Vince Colosimo, Nadine Garner, Alison Whyte and Gyton Grantley. This year the event will be broadcast on Foxtel’s Aurora Channel. 

“The broadcast will go to air soon after the event and will give all those interested in Australian screen directors a chance to celebrate their achievements," said Anderson. 

"This will be the second time we have broadcast the awards and we thank the Aurora Channel for their support.”

The awards will be hosted by comedian Cal Wilson at the Sofitel Melbourne on May 5.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.